Turns out college is tough

I survived Winter quarter and I have art projects to show for it! Let’s just say this past quarter was quite the challenge. If it doesn’t hurt, it’s not working. Or something.

I took an advanced art studio course titled Image and Imagination. My instructor Ted Heibert, a talented, established artist himself, assigned projects and readings [for an idea: Baudrillard and Viirilio] that chewed up my brain, spit it out and then told me to MAKE ART. I’ve never simultaneously detested and appreciated an assignment before. New feelings.

I’ve been following Meagan-Marie’s Game Industry Advice by tailoring each school project around gaming in some way. My concept was to challenge, question and observe the blur between reality and game worlds using World of Warcraft as my interface. Below is what I managed to produce after hours of learning how to tinker with Photoshop:

I really like how some of them turned out; others I have a hard time looking at. I realize they aren’t technically perfect either [exposure, alignment]. Overall, I believe the project was a success.

Does anyone else ever experience a game world bleeding in to the real world? Do you ever catch yourself seeing a part of a game in reality? This happened to me a lot while playing Fallout 3; every piece of junk I saw IRL started to seem usable, each with their own value and stats popping in to my brain.

Stay in school kids.

Cheers!

One thought on “Turns out college is tough

  1. Ever read Philip K. Dick’s Valis (I think… could be misremembering)? In it, the protagonist could see old Roman architecture and landscapes overlaid on top of modern landscapes. While playing Assassin’s Creed, I totally felt that, and then when I walked around the UW-Seattle campus, I totally could see the digital artifacts of the simulated environments in Assassin’s Creed. http://markdangerchen.net/2008/09/15/assassins-creed-and-philip-k-dick/

Leave a Reply

